Florida State University Shines at National Art Education Association Conference

Florida State University‚Äôs Department of Art Education displayed an impressive presence at the 2018 National Art Education Association (NAEA) Convention in Seattle, Washington. Annually, NAEA hosts the largest gathering of art educators in the world and this year was no exception with over 4,000 art educators in attendance and more than 1,000 sessions, workshops, tours, and other events. Many FSU students delivered presentations at the convention, including Alexandra Allen, John Jay Boda, Jennifer Hamrock, Ashley Hartman, Cindy Jessup, Annie McFarland, Paige Smith-Wyatt, Yiwen Wei, Anthony Woodruff, and Jorge Bustamante. FSU professors (Dr. Pat Villeneuve, Dr. Sara Scott Shields, Dr. Ann Rowson Love, Dr. Rachel Fendler, and Jeff Broome) presented as well, as did many alumni including Jaehan Bae, Minuette Floyd, Karen Hutzel, Allison Paul, Debrah Sickler-Voight, Ansley Simmons, Sunny Spillane, Steve Willis, and Yichien Cooper. Dr. Laura Chapman, FSU alumna, received the Eisner Lifetime Achievement Award, while Susannah Brown, FSU alumna, received the Southeastern Region’s Higher Education Art Educator Award. Congratulations to Dr. Chapman, Dr. Brown, and all those from FSU who helped this year’s NAEA Convention to be such a success.